Order: F(ABC) Stand
Order: F(ABC) - DEF
Order: F(SAO) - ABC
Order: F(ABC) - SAO
Order: F(SAO) S F(ABC)-DEF
Report: F(SAO) S F(OB)
if an area outside the Known World has been discovered by all the players, moves
are also reported to the extent that they take place in that area.
Builds take place as in regular Diplomacy. However, only the number of off-board
supply centres owned by each player is reported, not their location (unless they
have been discovered by all the players).
The following restrictions or additions to normal movement apply:
The areas of the Known World not divided into named provinces (designated as
Rest of Europe) are impassable.
A player's units may not enter the home territories of another player.
Sea areas in the Known World (but not outside it) may contain any number of
effect of these rules is that conflicts may only take place outside the Known
World or in the named land areas at the edge of the Known World. (Colonial wars
frequently took place without involving a European conflagration.) However,
units within the Known World may give support to units moving or standing in
Fleets have the following additional capabilities:
On leaving a home supply centre, a fleet has the option of moving either one or
two spaces (cf. the pawn in chess) so long as the move does not take it outside
the Known World. Only those unknown areas which are adjacent to the fleet at the
end of its move are disclosed to the player concerned. This rule (combined with
rule 8(c) above) gives the players a chance to explore in directions other than
those opposite to their home territories.
Fleets may move directly from EMS to BLA and vice versa.
For combined operations of armies and fleets, the same rules apply as in the
Abstraction variant. See the A/F rules module at the end of these rules.
(a) Any native armies which the GM places in supply centres will not, unless the
GM specifies otherwise, have any movement capability and if they are dislodged.
they will be removed from the Board.
(Optional rule) A native army which is dislodged is transformed into a treasure
unit (T) with no offensive of defensive strength, which may be transported by an
army or a fleet. A treasure unit may be passed from one army or fleet to another
by the first unit leaving the relevant space without the T unit, and the second
unit occupying the space. Moving units should specify whether they are
transporting the treasure. Units of another power may capture a treasure unit
either by occupying the space where its previous holder has left it or by
annihilating the unit transporting it If a player succeeds in transporting a
treasure unit back to one of his home centres, the unit is removed from the
board, but the player concerned is thereafter entitled to an additional build
over and above his total supply centre count.
The game is won by the first player to control a majority of the off-board
supply centres, the total number of which will be announced by the GM at the
start of the game.
of Known World provinces with standard abbreviations:
Bay of Biscay
Central Med. Sea
Eastern Med. Sea
Mid Atlantic Ocean
North Atlantic Ocean
South Atlantic Ocean
Western Med. Sea