Download Map (GIF)

The chaos variant is played by 34 players, each owning a single supply center on the standard Diplomacy map.  The game starts in Winter of 1900 at the adjustment phase.  Each player starts out choosing which type of unit they wish to build and progressing from there.  When building units, a unit may be built at any owned supply center.

Due to the number of players, power names are a single character followed by the three letter abbreviation of your initial center. These are:

A-Ank, B-Bel, C-Ber, D-Bre, E-Bud, F-Bul, G-Con, H-Den, I-Edi, J-Gre, K-Hol, L-Kie, N-Lvp, P-Lon, Q-Mar, R-Mos, S-Mun, T-Nap, U-Nor, V-Par, W-Por, X-Rom, Y-Rum, Z-Ser, 0-Sev, 1-Smy, 2-Spa, 3-StP, 4-Swe, 5-Tri, 6-Tun, 7-Ven, 8-Vie, 9-War.

thus if you were assigned Serbia in game "fontenoy", you would sign on to the game as "signon zfontenoy ".  Before powers are assigned you would continue to use the ?fontenoy syntax for a signon. Note that O and M are not used because they are reserved for Observer and Master, respectively.

Victory conditions are 18 supply centers.

- Alphabetical Index of Variants - Variants by Subject - Variants by No. of Players - ARDA Classification
Variant Articles - Variant Descriptions - Variant Bank PolicyAdvice for Designers - Regular Diplomacy Rules