Scorched Earth Diplomacy
by John Morgan
standard rules of Diplomacy (1971 rulebook) apply, except where amended below.
2) As the
supply centres represent centres of industrial production which are capable of
supporting armies and fleets, it follows that this capability would end if the
factories in the supply centre were demolished. Therefore, a player may order
units in provinces with supply centres to demolish the industrial capability of
those provinces. This counts as the unit's move for that season, so it may not
move, convoy or give support at the same time.
orders are written, for example, F(Sev) des Sev or A(Bel) des Bel. Once the
supply centre is destroyed, the province is still passable and is treated like
any other non-supply centre province.
Destroying the entire industrial capability of a city of group of cities is a
very time consuming activity. Therefore, a unit occupied in this destruction is
unable defend the province as well, so it offers no opposition to attacking
forces and may not receive support.
5) If a
unit employing the scorched earth option is attacked then it will be dislodged,
unless there are two or more attacks upon the province which are equally
supported, in which case a stand-off occurs as usual. Even if the unit is
dislodged, the destruction still takes place, and the dislodged unit may retreat
winner is the first player to own the majority (i.e. more than half) of the
remaining supply centres at the end of any Autumn season.
First printed in 10
Lime Avenue No.37 (April l990).